Thursday, August 06, 2009

For the discouraged jobseekers:

If you are a discouraged jobseeker and have a spare hour or two, I would suggest you find a quiet comfortable place and listen to Johann Sebastian Bach’s "Brandenburg Concertos:"

Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major, BWV 1046*

Menuet-Trio I-Menuet da capo-Polacca-Menuet da capo-Trio II-Menuet da capo

Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major, BWV 1047
Allegro assai

Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048

Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major, BWV 1049

Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B flat major, BWV 1051
Adagio ma non troppo

Bach is believed to have composed these while Kapellmeister at Köthen in the first decades of the eighteenth century. They are considered the pinnacle of baroque music, and are among the most famous and popular pieces in the classical canon.
Bach, in his mid-thirties at the time, used these as his resume and application for the position of court composer to Christian Ludwig, margrave of Brandenburg-Schwedt.
The following dedication served as his ‘cover letter:’
“As I had the good fortune a few years ago to be heard by Your Royal Highness,
at Your Highness's commands, and as I noticed then that Your Highness took some
pleasure in the little talents which Heaven has given me for Music, and as in
taking Leave of Your Royal Highness, Your Highness deigned to honour me with the
command to send Your Highness some pieces of my Composition: I have in
accordance with Your Highness's most gracious orders taken the liberty of
rendering my most humble duty to Your Royal Highness with the present Concertos,
which I have adapted to several instruments; begging Your Highness most humbly
not to judge their imperfection with the rigor of that discriminating and
sensitive taste, which everyone knows Him to have for musical works, but rather
to take into benign Consideration the profound respect and the most humble
obedience which I thus attempt to show Him.”

Then consider the following:

· Bach did not get the position.
· The Margrave never thanked Bach for the concerti nor acknowledged them.
· The scores were stored in a closet unplayed for decades.

…That kind of puts things in perspective, doesn’t it?

*BWV indicates the Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis (Bach Works Catalogue) number, a standard nomenclature developed in 1950 by Wolfgang Schmieder for the compositions of J.S. Bach

No comments: